From CIE:


Cambridge IGCSE is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds. It is recognised by leading universities and employers worldwide, and is an international passport to progression and success. Developed over 25 years ago, it is tried, tested and trusted by schools worldwide.

Cambridge IGCSE assessment takes place at the end of the course and can include written, oral, coursework and practical assessment. This broadens opportunities for students to demonstrate their learning, particularly when their first language is not English. In many subjects there is a choice between core and extended curricula, making Cambridge IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities.

Grades are benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades, A* to G, which have clear guidelines to explain the standard of achievement for each grade.

Cambridge IGCSE examination sessions occur twice a year, in June and November. Results are issued in August and January.

Past papers with mark schemes for each subject are available for you to download, along with examiner reports from previous exam sessions, and specimen papers. To find them, go to the Cambridge IGCSE subjects page and choose your subject, or go to the Resource Centre.

Cambridge IGCSE is widely recognised by higher education institutions and employers around the world as evidence of academic achievement. Many universities require a combination of Cambridge International A Levels and Cambridge IGCSEs to meet their entry requirements.

International AS and A Levels

Thousands of learners worldwide gain places at leading universities every year with Cambridge International AS and A Levels. The syllabuses develop a deep understanding of subjects and independent thinking skills.

Learners can choose from a range of assessment options to gain Cambridge International AS and A Level qualifications:

  1. Take the Cambridge International AS Level only. The syllabus content is half a Cambridge International A Level.
  2. Take a ‘staged’ assessment route – take the Cambridge International AS Level in one examination series and complete the final Cambridge International A Level at a subsequent series.
  3. Take all papers of the Cambridge International A Level course in the same examination session, usually at the end of the course.

We hold Cambridge International AS and A Level examination series twice a year, in June and November. Results are issued in August and January.

Each subject that a learner takes receives a separate grade.

Grades are benchmarked using internationally recognised grades, which have clear guidelines to explain the standards of achievement.

The Cambridge International A Level is reported on a grade scale from A* (highest) to E (minimum required performance). There is no A* grade for Cambridge International AS Levels, which run from grade A to E.

We also provide worldwide results statistics for Cambridge International AS and A Level qualifications.

Admission to institutions worldwide 

Learners use Cambridge International AS and A Levels to gain places at leading universities worldwide including the UK, Ireland, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, Singapore, Egypt, Jordan, South Africa, the Netherlands, Germany and Spain.

The Lisbon Convention (an international agreement signed by 50 countries and international organisations, including the European Union, USA, Australia, Canada, Israel and New Zealand) facilitates the recognition of foreign studies among the signatory countries.

Unless a substantial difference is observed, a qualification issued by one of the signatory parties is recognised by the others. In terms of access to higher education studies, the Lisbon Convention guarantees that holders of an upper secondary school or high school qualification that grants access to tertiary education in their home countries will also meet the general requirements to apply for higher education in the rest of the signatory countries.                                                   

Admission to North American institutions 

In countries such as the United States and Canada, good grades in carefully chosen Cambridge International A Level subjects can result in up to one year of university course credit.

Over 485 US universities accept Cambridge International AS and A levels, including all Ivy League universities.

Research has been carried out to explore whether Cambridge International AS and A Levels predict readiness for and continued academic success at US universities. Findings from a number of research studies suggest that the Cambridge programme compares favourably with other, more established, acceleration programmes in the US including Advanced Placement (AP) and the International Baccalaureate (IB).

Read our Destination USA brochure for more information.                                         

Admission to UK institutions

Cambridge International AS and A Levels are equivalent to the AS and A Levels taken by learners in the UK, and are accepted for entrance to all UK universities.

UCAS is the centralised admissions service through which students must apply to study at UK universities. Find out about the A Level entry requirements for specific UK university courses by using the UCAS course search service.

UCAS provides international guides that help to explain UK higher education and how to make a university application through UCAS. These guides have been translated into a number of different languages which you can download from the UCAS website.

Read our Destination UK brochure for more information.   

Recognition search         

Search our recognition database to find out which institutions recognise Cambridge qualifications. You can view details by country and qualification. To search for recognition statements from universities for Cambridge International AS and A Levels, select the following options: ‘Country’, ‘Institution Type’ (select ‘Higher or Further Education’), and ‘General Qualifications’ (select ‘AS/A Levels’).